Myanmar Visa 2019

If you wish to spend your holidays in the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, we will explain below the procedure necessary to easily obtain your Myanmar visa step by step.

Update August 2018: Since August 8, India and Myanmar have updated their borders, allowing the use of the e-Visa. They have also abolished special permits to transit the area. So all travelers traveling without any motor vehicle can cross the border freely.

Please note that citizens wishing to make the tour entering from India by land border to our country will need to obtain a tourist visa from a Myanmar embassy since you will not be able to do so with an e-visa. First of all, notice that passport holders from Thailand, Singapore, Vietnam, Philippines, Indonesia, Brunei, Cambodia and Laos do not need to obtain a Myanmar visa in advance and will be able to enjoy a maximum stay of 14 days in Myanmar.

Myanmar Tourist Visa (Myanmar Embassy)

Citizens from other countries wishing to visit the former Burma should apply for a tourist visa in their country of origin at the Myanmar embassy. The process can take between 3 working days to two weeks depending on your country and the price is USD 50. It is therefore recommended to carry out the procedure in advance, taking the duration of validity of the visa into consideration, up to three months from the issued date. Your Myanmar visa will allow you to spend a maximum of 28 days in the Burmese territory but you will be able to extend its duration on the spot for the price of 3 dollars per day plus a 3 dollars administration fees. If you have a tourist visa previously obtained through your embassy or consulate, you will also be able to cross the Chinese border Ruili/Muse (when it is open) as well as the Indian border Moreh/Tamu by having precedently obtained a special permit allowing you to do so (we arrange those permits in all our tours). For more information, feel free to contact us.

Myanmar e-Visa

Since 2014, citizens of more than 100 countries wishing to visit Myanmar will be able to apply for their visa online on the Internet, facilitating the process of application, especially for those from countries that do not have a Myanmar embassy. The application can be done through the official Ministry of Immigration e-visa website. This e-visa, valid for a period of 90 days from the issued date, allows you to stay for a total of 28 days maximum in the country for the price of 50 USD, as well as the regular Tourist Visa. Please note that by choosing the e-visa option, you will not receive a visa sticker in your passport, unlike most visas obtained in other countries, but an entry and exit stamp will be affixed as soon as you enter and then leave the country. The following 8 entry points are currently available to use the Myanmar e-Visa:
  • Yangon International Airport
  • Mandalay International Airport
  • Nay Pyi Taw International Airport
  • Mae Sai/Tachileik land border Checkpoint
  • Mae Sot/Myawaddy land border Checkpoint
  • Ranong/Kawthaung land border Checkpoint
  • Rih Khaw Dar Land Border Checkpoint (new opening)
  • Tamu Land Border Checkpoint (new opening)
E-visas are currently only valid for entry at Myanmar’s via those 3 airports, those 3 Thai-Myanmar border points and the new international borders from India, Tamu and Rih Khaw Dar . Unfortunately, as things stand today, travellers wishing to enter by land from India and China with an e-visa won’t be able to do so as there are currently no entry points with the necessary infrastructure to process your e-visa. However, changes are expected soon due to the recent opening of the country on the outside, thus allowing the entry of tourists by more cities. We will of course let you know the news through our website. For more information, you can whether contact us or visit the Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population website.
[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *